Status: Lost Forever
This house is one of only two 18th century buildings left in Rumson, but more importantly, it represents Rumson’s and Monmouth County’s history, as well as important links to significant 18th and 19th century NewYork City families. Architecturally the house still retains a high degree of its original features, particularly the main block built by Richard Saltar, Jr. in the early 18th c. It has round-end shingles on the back and the front, a feature unique to Monmouth County and retains much of its original interior detailing.
Archaeological investigations suggest this is a significant early Native American site.
1711 one of the oldest houses in Monmouth county
1737 acquired by Richard Saltar Jr. a supreme court justice, freehold, and East Jersey Proprietor
1761-1810 inn run by John Hartshorne for Jersey shore visitors
1833 Seabury Tredwell, NY marine merchant, purchased as country estate; his NY residence is house museum
interior maintains integrity
6 acres site threatened by new owners who proposed to raze house for four new houses and build road at house’s current location.
Early 18th-century county home threatened with demolition by neglect; proposed 5 lot subdivision; demolition permit application. In 10/04, Planning Board proposed to send a historic preservation architect to evaluate the property. 06/06 Locked in legal battle, between preservationists who filed suit against the owners who wanted to demolish it, the fate of the Tredwell house was sealed when a fire leveled most of the house, with firefighters demolishing what was left of the house to control the flames.
Mary Lou Strong, Middletown Landmarks Commission
946 Navesink River Road,
Locust, NJ 07760-2330